Just got diagnosed!

Curvy Girls Forum allows girls impacted by scoliosis from all around the world to share their common experiences, give and get advise, while feeling connected.
Em(brace)

Just got diagnosed!

Post by Em(brace) »

Hey y’all!

My name is Em. I am new here and just found out I need a Boston brace that I wear 20hr and 2 years! It’s gonna be a tropical pattern! I’m gonna name it Mandisa! I would appreciate any brace success stories and any advice. I also have a stress fracture that is never going to heal!

-Em
Izobel000

Re: Just got diagnosed!

Post by Izobel000 »

Hi!

My name is Izobel, I'm 13 years old and I've been wearing a Boston Brace 3D for a little over 2 years now. I wear mine for 19 hours a day. I got diagnosed in November of 2019, with curves of 26 and 38. I was immediately put into a Boston Brace, though the wait time had me getting it in early January (Jan. 4th i'm pretty sure). I wasn't a huge fan of it at the time, though it wasn't a big issue for me.
For a little background, I have anxiety, OCD, and a couple stomach related issues, so wearing a tight brace around my stomach was less than ideal.
Because of the added issues I had (and still have) when it came to my brace it took me 2 months or so to get completely used to it. Sleeping was much easier for me personally than wearing it during the day, and I really didn't have much of a problem with wearing it overnight and falling asleep. I know sleeping is an issue for other people though.
My first follow-up, out of brace appt was in March of 2020 (after I was fully adjusted to my brace) It was at the beginning of March, before the pandemic. My curves were stable, and went down a bit. They were now at 19 and 36.
I only got to wear my brace to school once before the COVID pandemic hit, so I don't have much experience in that front, but I was able to wear my brace even more once the pandemic hit. Luckily, I didn't have many online classes to do, so I was able to get my hours in.